Music is a part of this blog I’ve not really touched on a great deal so far, so let’s fix that. While never having studied music, I’m somewhat of a person with a passion for songs and artists alike. I’m an avid collector (read: hoarder) of vinyl records new and old, which I actually play on my turntable, unlike some record collectors of recent. I take part in music discussion and aid people in discovering new music, as well as also finding tonnes of new music myself on a regular basis, and I’m also the longest-serving host of Hull University’s Salad Days radio show- a show which boasts the university’s highest ever listener count. It’s no wonder this obsession with music has seeped into the blog.

In this post, and the others that will hopefully follow it, I’ll post a collage of my listenings, as well as some of the albums I’ve been listening to outside of the scope of streaming. If you’re lucky I’ll even talk about recent purchases and gigs I have lined up, so let’s crack on.

This week has been a bit of a quiet week as far as streaming is concerned; I’ve been busy settling into my new uni digs, so my streaming numbers have taken a decline as a result. Still though, I’ve managed to cram in two albums I’ve been meaning to listen to for ages: Flume – Hi This Is Flume and Carly Rae Jepsen – EMOTION. In addition to that is Kero Kero Bonito‘s TOTEP EP, a firm favourite of mine. Beyond streaming, I’ve also been revisiting some of Jeff Rosenstock‘s discography on my turntable.

I’ve been fairly busy purchase-wise recently, ordering the Kero Kero Bonito Flamingo 7″, as well as their 10″ pressing of TOTEP. Straying away from the Bonitoverse and you’ll find I’ve also preordered a few records: 1000 Gecs by 100 Gecs; 2814‘s Birth of a New Day; and Frank Ocean‘s Channel Orange– an eclectic mix to say the least.

That’s it for my week though, it’s been a busy one! What have you guys been listening to recently?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started